The Louisiana Association of Student Assistance Programs (LASAP) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) state association whose mission is to promote the development, improvement, and extension of educational opportunities to every student in the state of Louisiana regardless of race, creed, or physical limitation who, because of financial, cultural, or educational factors have not yet developed to her or his fullest potential.  LASAP's membership consists of professionals that work within the Federal TRIO Programs.  These programs facilitate the students' goal of successful matriculation from high school into postsecondary education.  
LASAP was founded in 1973 under the wisdom and guidance of the late Walter O. Mason, U.S. Department of Education, Region VI Grants Representative. LASAP is a member of the Southwest Association of Student Assistance Programs (SWASAP) and the Council for Opportunity in Education (COE).  




Louisiana Association of Student Assistance Programs

Board of Directors


President Mrs. Jamie Flanagan

Assistant Director/Advisor/Instructor

Student Support Services 

Northwestern State University

165 Sam Sibley Drive. 241 Kyser Hall

Natchitoches, Louisiana 71457

318.357.5674: flanagan@nsula.edu


President-Elect Ms. Juanita Showers

Assistant Director

Upward Bound Tangipahoa

SLU Box 10568

Hammond, Louisiana 70402

985.549.3395: juanita.showers@selu.edu


Past-President Ms. Cheryle Wheeler-Johnson

Program Director

Upward Bound Sabine

Southern University at Shreveport

610 Texas Street Ste. 104

Shreveport, Louisiana 71101

318.670.9601: cjohnson@susla.edu


Secretary Miss. Akeva Johnson

Assistant Director

Math and Science Upward Bound

Southern University at New Orleans

6801 Press Drive

New Orleans, Louisiana 70126

504.286.5370: ajohnson@suno.edu


Treasurer Mr. Donta Mills

Assistant Director

Upward Bound Classic 2

Baton Rouge Community College

126 Magnolia Bldg.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806

225.216.8357: millsd@mybrcc.edu


SWASAP Board Representative Mr. Andre Peter Varnado, Sr.

Associate Director

Classic Upward Bound

University of New Orleans

6549 Wales Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70126

504.237.9877: avarnado@uno.edu 


SWASAP Board Representative Mrs. Ashley Roman Gregory

Counselor

Classic Upward Bound

University of Louisiana Lafayette

PO Box 43659

Lafayette, Louisiana 70504

337.482.1183: ashley.roman@louisiana.edu



Parliamentarian, Mr. Ron Abel

Director

Class Upward Bound

Math and Science Upward Bound

Southeastern Louisiana University

Hammond, Louisiana

rabel@selu.edu  


Public Affairs Coordinator Dr. Shrylin M. Davis

Director

Math and Science Upward Bound

Southern University at New Orleans

6801 Press Drive

New Orleans, Louisiana 70126

504.286.5249: sdavis@suno.edu


Governmental Relations Coordinator Dr. Darica Simon

Director

TRIO Programs

Baton Rouge Community College

126 Magnolia Bldg.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806

225.216.8272: simond2@mybrcc.edu


SWASAP Alternate Board Member

Vacant

"Your name" is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. Street Address, City, State 123456

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software